Book Review: Blood Drama by Christopher Meeks

 

  • Publisher: White Wiskers Press  (June 15, 2013)
  • Category: Mystery/Thriller/Suspense, Crime Thriller
  • Available in: Print &  eBook, 242 pages

Everyone has a bad day. Graduate student Ian Nash has lost his girlfriend in addition to being dropped from a Ph.D. program in theatre at a Southern California university. When he stops at a local coffee shop in the lobby of a bank to apply for a job, the proverbial organic matter hits the fan. A gang of four robs the bank, and things get bloody. Ian is taken hostage by the robbers when the police show up. Now he has to save his life.

 

FBI Special Agent Aleece Medina’s analysis of the bloody bank heist drives her into the pursuit of a robbery gang headed by two women. She doesn’t anticipate how this robbery will pit her against both the bandits and the male higher-ups in the FBI while the media heats up during a giant manhunt.

 

The robbers are about to kill Ian, and all he has at hand is his knowledge of the stage.

 

About Christopher Meeks:             

 

Christopher Meeks first published short fiction in a number of literary journals, and the stories are available in two collections, The Middle-Aged Man and the Sea and Months and Seasons. Recently, he’s focused on novels. The Brightest Moon of the Century is a story of a man who yearns for love and success, covering over thirty years-a tale that Marc Schuster of Small Press Reviewsdescribes as “a great and truly humane novel in the tradition of Charles Dickens and John Irving.” His last novel, Love At Absolute Zero, is about a physicist who uses the tools of science to find his soul mate-and he has just three days. Critic Grady Harp calls the book ”a gift.” The new novel, Blood Drama, has him edge into a thriller. Meeks also runs White Whisker Books and publishes four authors.

 

 

 

Christopher at the Red Room: http://redroom.com/member/christopher-meeks
Christopher’s Website www.chrismeeks.com

Christopher on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/christopher.meeks1?fref=ts
Christopher on Twitter https://twitter.com/MeeksChris

 

 

Follow the Tour:

 

So Many Precious Books May 13 Review & Giveaway

Books, Books & More Books May 14 Review

Books, Books & More Books May 15 Interview

Alive on the Shelves May 16 Review

Ordinary Girls May 17 Review

DWED Blog May 20 Review

DWED Blog May 21 Interview

She Treads Softly May 22 Review

Darlene’s Book Nook May 24th  Interview &Giveaway

OmniMyMystery June 6 Interview

Green Mountain May 27 Review

Book Lover’s Library May 28 Review

Book Lover’s Library May 29 Interview & Giveaway

Hezzi D’s Books & Cooks June 3 Review

Celtic Lady June 4 Interview

Laurie’s Thoughts & Reviews June 10 Review

Laurie’s Thoughts & Reviews June 11 Interview

I’d Rather be at the Beach June 12 Review & Giveaway

Self Taught Cook June 14 Review

Wormhole June 17 Review

Raging Bibliomania June 18 Review

Wormhole June 18 Interview & Giveaway

 

 

Reader review . . .

 

After being dropped from his doctorate program at SCU, grad student Ian Nash stops at a coffee shop in a bank lobby  to apply for work. While Ian is trying to think of what to write on the application, the bank is held up and he is taken hostage.  When he escapes from the bank robbers a few days later, he combines forces with FBI agent Aleece Medina to hunt down the robbers/ killers.

 

What sets this novel apart from other thriller is the development of the characters.  Not only is Medina more complex than the stereotypical FBI agent found in many suspense novels, but Nash is a new type of victim.  His theater and academic background give him an interesting perspective.

 

This is definitely a suspenseful, can’t-put-it-down thriller.  Clear your calendar in order to have time to read this from start to finish!

 

4.5 stars

 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Virtual Authors Book Tours  book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”  

 

One thought on “Book Review: Blood Drama by Christopher Meeks