Book Review: Murder at the Maples by Joanne Phillips

 

great escape tour banner large Murder at the maples640

Murder at the Maples
by Joanne Phillips

It’s an excellent start to a brand new cozy mystery series…
~Socrates Cozy Cafe

A quirky and well developed main character, strange and interesting secondary characters and the question of whether there was, or wasn’t, a murder kept me turning the pages.
~Queen of All She Reads

…a delightful cozy
Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book

The characters are lovely, and the mystery is top notch. Murder at the Maples is a wonderful start to a cozy series.
~Brooke Blogs

I couldn’t wait to read what might come next.
~Storeybook Reviews

…this book really wowed me in the end.
~A Chick Who Reads

cover murder at the maples
Book Details
• Murder at the Maples (A Flora Lively Mystery: Book 1)
• Mirrorball Books (September 16, 2013)
• Genre: Cozy mystery
• Number of Pages: 274

Synopsis:
A tragic death. A reluctant sleuth. A childhood prank that went horribly wrong.

When Flora Lively inherits her father’s business she’s totally out of her depth. Shakers Removals is in trouble, and manager Marshall isn’t helping one bit – the ex-pat American delights only in winding her up. But Flora has other things on her mind, like Joy: surrogate grandmother and resident of the Maples Retirement Village. When Joy’s pet pug has a brush with death, Flora is pulled into a series of bizarre incidents at the Maples, where fear is starting to take hold.

Could harmless old Mr. Felix really be the boy from Joy’s past, determined to exact his revenge, or is it Joy’s guilty mind playing tricks on her? And what about the Captain’s death? Accidents happen, even to the most careful people, but Flora’s not convinced the old man simply fell down the stairs … Playing detective seemed like a good idea at first, but before long Flora realises the stakes are far higher than either she or Joy imagined.

Full of warmth and humour, this gripping puzzle will appeal to fans of M. C. Beaton and Edie Clare.

Joanne Phillips

About The Author
Joanne Phillips lives in Shropshire, England with her husband and young daughter. She’s the author of commercial women’s fiction Can’t Live Without and The Family Trap, and the Flora Lively series of cosy mysteries. Can’t Live Without was an Amazon top 100 bestseller in 2012 and her books regularly appear on category bestseller lists. Joanne blogs about writing and publishing atwww.joannephillips.co.uk

Author Links:

Website: http://www.joannephillips.co.uk

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/joannephillipsauthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/joannegphillips

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/2862086.Joanne_Phillips

Amazon: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Joanne-Phillips/e/B0083UEG86/

 

Reader review . . . 

Having inherited her father’s moving business, Flora is trying to keep Shakers open as larger companies encroach on her territory, stealing her customers.  Meanwhile, Flora remains close to one of their elderly customers, Joy, who resides at The Maples.  When accidents begin to happen at the assisted living facility, Joy is convinced this is retribution for an incident from her childhood.    Although initially Flora does not believe this to be so, when her suspicions are aroused, she begins to investigate.

Fantastic new British cozy series, with a young amateur sleuth who interacts well with characters of all ages, this first installment in the Flora Lively Mysteries series is a solid start.  Although there is mild violence, the novel, with its humor and quirky characters, works well for fans of Miss Marple and/or Jessica Fletcher.

4 stars

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Great Escapes Book Tours  book review bloggers program. I  was  not  required  to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this
in   accordance   with  the   Federal   Trade   Commission’s   16   CFR,   Part   255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”  

One thought on “Book Review: Murder at the Maples by Joanne Phillips